Members Of The Malaysian Patient Safety Council

1.   Chairperson: Director- General of Health Malaysia

2.   Appointed members (3):      

  • YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Dr. Abu Bakar bin Suleiman
  • Dr. Milton Lum Siew Wah
  • Prof. Dr Rashid bin Abdul Rahman

3.   Representatives of Ministry of Health Malaysia (10)

  • Deputy Director General of Health (Medical)
  • Deputy Director General of Health (Public Health)
  • Deputy Director General of Health (Research & Technical Support)
  • Senior Director (Oral Health)
  • Senior Director (Pharmacy)
  • Director (Medical Development Division)
  • Director (Medical Practice)
  • Director (Nursing Division)
  • Malaysian Medical Council
  • Institute for Health Systems Research 

4.   Representatives of University Hospitals (3)

  • UKM Medical Center (UKMMC)
  • University Malaya Medical Centre (UMMC)
  • Hospital University Sains Malaysia (HUSM)

5.   Representatives of Ministry of Defense Malaysia (1)

  • Director General of Health Services (Malaysian Armed Forces)*

6.   Representatives of the Private Sectors/ NGOs (8)

  • Association of Private Hospital Malaysia (APHM)
  • Malaysian Society for Quality in health (MSQH)
  • Malaysian Medical Association (MMA)
  • Malaysian Pharmaceutical Society
  • Malaysian Dental Association
  • Academy of Medicine Malaysia
  • Academy of Family Physician Malaysia
  • Academy of Occupational and Environmental Medicine Malaysia

7.   Representatives of National Head of Services (8)

  • Anesthesiology
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Medicine
  • Surgery
  • Paediatric
  • Orthopaedic
  • National Blood Centre

8.   Secretariat: Quality in Medical Care Section, Medical Development Division, Ministry of Health Malaysia

9.   Representatives of Patients

Chairman of Patient for Patient Safety Malaysia*

*New member of Patient Safety Council of Malaysia since 2014

The tenure is for a period of two years and subject to reappoinment by the chairperson.

 Updated on 14th February 2014